Triskaidekaphobia Anyone?

As cliché as it may be, since this is the first “real” post for 2013, I thought it would be a good time to discuss resolutions. It’s my understanding that most people abandon their resolutions within the first month as I have done myself year after year. That’s why I stopped making them. At least until about this time last year. That’s when B and I sat down at a coffee shop much like the one we’re in right now, and wrote out our “goals” for 2012. Earlier this month we reviewed the list together.  Maybe it had something to do with us writing one list for the both of us and the accountability that created. Or maybe it was the fact that several of the goals we listed where realistic and attainable. Whatever it was we are quite satisfied with our mostly successful success rate. I absolutely love that our number 1 goal was to stay together. It’s safe to say we accomplished that one effortlessly. Here are some others that we were able to check as complete:

Increase Income: I got a new salaried job this year that was definitely an increase. I also got a second job as a server that provided money for the “extras” that life throws at us.

See Dentist: This was B’s to accomplish and although it was a painful and expensive experience he has an even better smile than before (if that’s even possible).

Visit family in NY: We just barely got that one in. Did I mention IT WAS AWESOME?!!

Watch one new movie from the “list of shame” once every 2 weeks: Can anyone guess whose goal this was? B and his friend started 2 podcast’s this year that have been successful. One of them, My Favorite Year, required him to watch lots of movies that he was able to cross off the “list of shame” so yay B! If you’re a movie lover I suggest checking it out. For those of you horror buffs, you will love Dead On Demand …just sayin.

Write a short story: This one was mine and I’m hanging my head as I say I didn’t even get close to it. What I did do instead, however, is start a blog! That was a pretty huge accomplishment for me. (Thank you B for encouraging me). So in reality I don’t feel too bad for not checking this one off.

Paint the downstairs and get the gutters cleaned were also on the accomplishments list. But the greatest accomplishment this year was that we survived the end of the world! Phew! I was a tinsy bit worried that my sons would never get to see the great stuff they got for Christmas.

That brings us to now. A NEW year. And naturally that means…a NEW list! But before I get to that, let me say that while I ‘m looking forward to all that’s to come in 2013, I know there are those who enter this year with trepidation.   For anyone suffering from Triskaidekaphobia (Thank you Mr. Cole for making that the bonus spelling word several times in 7th grade. I still had to look it up!) I hope you have a fabulous year regardless!

Here are the highlights of the 2013 goal list:

1. Stay together: this will probably be number one for the rest of our existence as a couple :).
2. Complete a new short film: not mine…this has B written all over it.
3. Blog at least once a week: ahem!
4. Reduce work hours: I love my part-time job so I don’t know how I’ll manage this one, but I am beginning to feel the burn out approaching.
5. Travel: we not only have NY on our list again, we’ve added NJ and FL to it. And these are just the family visits. We also want to try to get away for a weekend together. Now I just have to figure out how to do it all.
6. Read at least one book a month: both of us signed up for this one. I’m taking suggestions if you want to leave yours in the comments. I’d actually love that.

This next one gives me the warm fuzzies. B decided that this year he wanted a goal that included my boys since they are such an important part of his life now. Number 7 is regular band practice with B and the kids. This will be a time for him to focus on helping them move toward a bigger goal as a unified team.

And last, but not at all the least, number 8. B has agreed to write a post a month for my blog. It’s a goal you will all be witness to, which makes it harder to stretch the truth about later. It will undoubtedly be film related, but the details are still being worked out. So excited!

Lots to look forward to this year! I would love to hear from you this year too. Got any resolutions you want to share or book suggestions? Leave them in the comments section below. If you have an encouraging story you’d like to share please email me at unforgettablyordinary@gmail.com.

4 thoughts on “Triskaidekaphobia Anyone?

  1. Triska….who? Okay, I know what it means. I love the way you’ve turned “resolutions” into achievable goals. Way to go! I’m still hung up on “lose weight”, and it’s a continuing resolution that loses its oomph before January is over. Just started the Digest Diet today! Yummy shake made from a bunch of natural ingredients. It made so much, I froze some for dessert. Ever had a strawberry, peanut butter, yogurt shake? You ought to add that to your goal list. It’s amazing! Even better as frozen yogurt! Looking forward to Tall Blond & Handsome’s contribution. Stay WARM! Love y’all.

  2. You really do have a talent for writing, Dyana. I’ve got a couple or three books to recommend for your reading list. 1) The good and Beatiful Life by James Bryan Smith. Patty and I started reading this together, but I find I get more out of it by reading it on my own. 2) If you’re into political philosophy: Ameritopia by Mark Levin, 3) if you want to know where the USA fits into prophecy: Implosion by Joel Rosenberg, or if you’re into adventure novels and also want to learn something about the middle east, read any of Rosenbergs fictional novals–I could hardly put these down! Love ya!

I'd love to hear your thoughts. Please Leave a Reply...

